Destination: Dole Whip

IMG_20150906_121145

My ceramic Dole Whip container

When I mentioned in my last post that we like to keep our plans flexible, I wasn’t kidding.  The only catch with this change in our plan was that we had to cancel the trip and reschedule to another weekend.  Poor Molly caught some sort of sickness from her students during her second week of school, and there was no way she was going to be able to go.  I initially considered going alone, but right before I started packing I called the Dolphin directly and was able to reschedule without any penalty.  I knew at that point the trip was definitely not meant to be.

But all was not lost, as I found a way to get my Disney fix right down the street from my house last night.  A few months ago, a new frozen yogurt shop called Menchies opened near me, but I didn’t really think twice about it since there are so many of these places around.  I also normally don’t get frozen yogurt, because my bowl ends up being super expensive, however, I do splurge on a treat every now and then.

A few weeks ago I was glancing at our local ad circular from the mail when something caught my eye.  Menchies has….Dole Whip!?  (ps. In all honesty those ingredients scare me – on the other hand ignorance is bliss so I’m going to forget I even looked)

I kept it in the back of my mind to go investigate and see if it was the real deal, so this weekend was the perfect time to try it.  Before I went I called the shop to make sure they actually had it.  I had to say “Do you have Dole soft serve today?”  It felt a little odd calling it that, but they clearly do not call it ‘whip’.

Not to worry, as I am happy to report it is the same frozen sensation that they serve at WDW and DL!  Next time I go I will try to combine some of their vanilla and the pineapple.  I really hope they keep it year round, but I’m not sure they do.  It would also be awesome to attempt to make my own Dole Whip float at home.  I could transport it home and store in the freezer and then serve it in this glass that Molly got me for my wedding anniversary this year. IMG_20150906_121241

This was a great way to get a little Disney at home, especially on a weekend that we were supposed to be there.  Luckily it won’t be too long before we’re back, but until then at least I know I can always get some Dole Whip near home if I need a dose of Disney!

2 thoughts on “Destination: Dole Whip

  1. Pingback: Destination – Dole Whip, Part Two | Second Star Sisters

Leave a comment