A Vacation Tip When Plans Change

A little over month ago, I had posted the excitement for an upcoming trip – only to have to make an unfortunate last minute cancellation due to Molly’s illness.  It was past the 5 day window of being able to cancel without penalty so I wasn’t sure if I should go by myself or not.  Luckily, I knew from past experience I could reschedule and not lose any money.

A Vacation Tip When Plans Change:

If you have a trip planned and have to cancel last minute, don’t cancel the room reservation.  Simply re-book to a different date and the room deposit will move over to the new booking.  It also doesn’t matter if the rate changes – you can still transfer the deposit and pay the difference upon check-in.  This is something I’ve had to do a few times over the last few years and it’s really great to know that even if you book something – you’re not completely tied down to the dates.

With that being said, I’m really glad we were able to reschedule so soon.  We will be headed to the Dolphin on Saturday and staying 2 nights (another holiday weekend for me!).  I’m still looking forward to all the things I mentioned in my post regarding it, with the added bonus of less heat and humidity now that we’re into October!

2 thoughts on “A Vacation Tip When Plans Change

  1. Pingback: A Marvelous Birthday Surprise | Second Star Sisters

Leave a Reply

